This is the heroic story of an 18 year old WW II USAAF fighter pilot with the eyesight of an eagle and a passion for the sky. In 1944, John Philip Garreau responds to the call of war by enlisting. On a P-51 D Mustang, he quickly becomes an ace in air combat, then a double and a triple ace in the European skies.

In London, he fells in love with Muriel, a young woman whose fiancé is prisoner of the Japanese. That’s war, World War II. It’s complicated and Johnny Garreau wants to take some distance. He asks for a tranfer in Corsica, where he meets Antoine de Saint-Exupéry, the great aviator and writer, and has with him a harrowing discussion on the « real faked death » of the Little Prince. They don’t know that both of them are going to die soon.

During a mission over Burgundy, Johnny’s plane is hit by the German flack. The Mustang is barely maneuvrable. First Lieutenant Garreau must make a quick decision : to bail out or to try a crash landing.

70 years later, Hélène Marchal, a French journalist, discovers his heroic behaviour. He died in his attempt to steer the plane away from a house in which was a four year old little girl : her mother. Hélène realises that she owns him her life.

Who was this young man ? Hélène only knows he was from Browning, Montana. She decides to travel there to investigate. Gradually, she will piece together the life of this pilot nicknamed Little Eagle. With hindsight, his story – and this novel– takes on the dimensions of a legend. And with it brings the protagonists to question their own destinies, over time and space.

This novel was inspired by the actual crash of a US pilot in the Champagne region of France, LeRoy Lutz, who had to decide in a split second between saving his own life or the lives of others.
This book completely mesmerized me, and that has nothing to do with WW II aviation being one of my favorite genres. The writing just blew me away. *****
Hal on Goodreads
Stacks Image 26823
This novel is beautifully crafted and delightfully woven tale creating the time and ambiance of WWII in Europe. The fighter pilot protagonist comes to life in an intricate tale of discovery written by a sensitive journalist on her own journey of discovery.
***** review by Philip Korth on Amazon.

Stacks Image 25916
Ce livre est l’héroïque histoire d’un pilote de guerre américain de 18 ans mort en France. Il a été inspiré par le drame de LeRoy Lutz, qui en 1944, dans le ciel de la Champagne, a dû choisir en une fraction de seconde entre sauver sa vie et sauver celles des autres.

Dans ses Montagnes Rocheuses natales, John Philip Garreau a développé très tôt une passion pour le ciel, le vol. Engagé volontaire comme pilote de chasse, il devient rapidement un as du combat aérien avec son Mustang P-51 D dans le ciel européen.

A Londres, il tombe amoureux de Muriel, une jeune femme dont le fiancé est prisonnier des Japonais. Relation passionnée mais compliquée et douloureuse. Johnny éprouve le besoin de prendre une certaine distance et demande à être transféré en Corse. Sur cette île, il rencontre Antoine de Saint-Exupéry, une légende de l’aviation, avec lequel il a une conversation poignante sur le « vraie fausse mort » du Petit Prince. Ni l’un ni l’autre ne savent qu’ils vont mourir bientôt.

Au cours d’une mission au-dessus de la Bourgogne, son avion est touché par la DCA allemande et devient difficilement maneuvrable. Le Premier lieutenant Garreau doit prendre une très rapide décision : sauter en parachute quand il le peut encore ou tenter un atterrissage forcé.

70 ans plus tard, Hélène Marchal, une journaliste, découvre le comportement héroïque qui a été le sien. Il s’était tué dans une tentative désespérée (et réussie) en vue d’éviter de s’écraser sur une maison dans laquelle se trouvait une petite fille de quatre ans : sa mère. Hélène réalise qu’elle doit la vie à cet aviateur.

Qui était ce très jeune homme ? Hélène sait seulement qu’il venait de Browning, dans le Montana. Elle décide de se rendre là-bas pour enquêter. Petit à petit, elle va reconstituer la vie de ce pilote surnommé Little Eagle. Avec le recul, son histoire va prendre pour elle la dimension d’une légende. Qui la conduira, elle et d'autres protagonistes, à découvrir le rôle que peut jouer le destin, dans le temps
Un roman à la hauteur de ce qu'on peut trouver dans les meilleures maisons d'édition.
Thomas Galley, La Bauge littéraire

Stacks Image 26823
Un roman à la hauteur de ce qu'on peut trouver dans les meilleures maisons d'édition.
Thomas Galley, La Bauge littéraire